Last month, I started what I call The Memory Project. I’m video recording the memories of my grandparents, Ken and Dottie Bruestle. They are both 73 years old, and between them, they have a lot of stories to share.

My method: I prompt them to start them talking, then I let them continue on with their stories, going from tangent to tangent, as stories often do.

I’m not in the videos. I don’t even talk in them, though I am monitoring the camera. I don’t want the videos to seem like one-on-one interviews. I want the focus to be my grandparents’ memories.

I record them using the Flip UltraHD video camera I got for Christmas. I edit the video using Windows Movie Maker. Then I upload the videos onto my YouTube channel.

Click here to watch the videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/salpicatura/videos

