Stormy seas don’t scare me. I’m ready to ride the waves.

Damn, baby | You frusterate me | I know you’re mine, all mine, all mine | But you look so good it hurts sometimes | Your body is a wonderland

I told her about you, and when I did I was grinning ear to ear. Then I did one of those super girly hops that only girls do when they’re really happy or excited. Yeah, you’re exciting. XOXO.

I heart The Seattle Times. God, I’m so lucky. (No, you are not experiencing déjà vu. Well, maybe you are.)

A few weeks after my internship at The Times as the summer Online Letters Intern ended, I got an e-mail from Pat Foote, the assistant managing editor, asking me if I’d be interested and able to intern again starting September 15 for 4-6 weeks. Of course, I said yes. I am currently the Letters Intern — it’s the internship my former Daily co-worker Will did over the summer. As Letters Intern, I’m doing the same things I did as the Online Letters Intern, only for print. Plus, a few bonuses: I work full-time; get to proofread the editorial pages of the newspaper for my mentor, Ken Rosenthal; and I get paid. Yes, that’s right: I get paid.

“Read the directions and directly you will be directed in the right direction.” -Doorknob, from Alice in Wonderland

I desperately want to discover more music. Which is to say, I need a new music love interest. I want to learn of a band I’ve never heard of and fall for its music, heart and soul. I want to get so intrigued, so involved that I listen to an album for weeks on repeat, until I commit the lyrics to memory. That sort of thing hasn’t happened since The Shins. Or Tegan and Sara! Oh, please. I’d love to discover another like Tegan and Sara.

It’s true but weird to say that Burn After Reading was both funny and depressing. Very depressing, actually. It is a story of lies, deceit, mistakes, stupidity, adultery, and black mail. Its message to the audience is: People are idiots. Brad Pitt’s Chad Feldheimer was my favorite.

Go ahead and give me your two cents. Give me a quarter, if you want. I’ll put it in my piggy bank and save it for a rainy day.

I am woman. Hear me roar.

Sometimes I’ll make an observation, well, just because I can. I think it’s my way of telling someone I pay attention to them. It might seem like I’m complaining, but I’m not really.

Strangely, I’ve run into three guys I know this week: Jeff Heimbuch, Shane Phillips, and Jerred Poitra. That rarely happens. But every accidental encounter was in Seattle, so maybe Seattle is the happening city.

As a writer, I’m always curious as to what others think of my work. Do me a favor, would you? Check out http://dailyuw.com, the new Web site for the University of Washington student newspaper, The Daily, to read some of my past clips. Just search for my name. Most of my stories will show in the archive, but others are lost in the system.

I am responsible for me. I am responsible for my own happiness. I am responsible for my own growth. I make the changes. I’m taking over. Today.

