I just watched the film “All the President’s Men” (1976) starring Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman. It’s the one about how reporters Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward of the Washington Post uncovered the details of the Watergate scandal that lead to President Nixon’s resignation. It was pretty good. No. Very good.

Maybe that’s just because the story revolved around investigative reporting. I usually struggle to stay interested in a political movie. This one definitely has politics, but it focuses just a bit more on the reporting. On the journalism. And, I like journalism.

It’s actually a requirement for two of my classes that I watch “All the President’s Men.” Talk about killing two birds with one stone! Ha ha. I scribbled some things into a notebook while I was watching. It almost got to the point where I was scribbling down the same things Woodward (Redford) wrote in his notes on screen. I was just trying to follow the story– trying to understand Watergate– and ended up feeling as though I was the one scrambling for sources, solving the mystery.

I was so immersed, so energized by the chase for information that I had this urge to hop out of my chair, rush into the Washington Post newsroom, pick up a phone, dial, and start asking questions alongside Bernstein and Woodward. (I’d leave the typing to Woodward, though. I still can’t get over how much more difficult and slow it must have been to crank out the news using a typewriter back then.) Funny thing is, I don’t really want to do investigative reporting. Or at least I never entertainted the thought of it. It’s too much into politics. It’s too stressful. It’s too something. Real, maybe.

The film left me wanting, though. I wanted to know more about the daily routine of a reporter: Just how much effort did Woodward and Bernstein have to put into the coverage of Watergate? How fast did they have to scribble quotes? How much did they paraphrase? How quickly were they able to crank out a story? Why did they agree to so many anonymous sources? How did they deal with the ethical dilemmas? Etc. I just want to know. I just want to know what I’m getting myself into.

Oh, and one last thing. Most memorable moment in the film: Bernstein and Woodward are furiously working on their story. Bernstein throws a cookie at Woodward. Woodward tosses it aside and says, “I don’t want a cookie.” Ha ha. I love it. It seems so out of place and so perfect at the same time.

Wait. Who wouldn’t want a cookie?

