I’m going flying!

It’ll be me and my neighbor Doug Henry in a Cessna 150 similar to this! That is, if my parents give me the go-ahead. I don’t want to do anything that’d give them a heart attack. Heck, even I’m scared of the idea. But, I think the excitement outweighs it! I was smiling so much at the idea of flying that my cheeks hurt. lol.

Doug owns a Cessna 150 with 3 of his co-workers. He said at first he wasn’t interested in joint-owning a plane, but then realized his flying-crazed co-workers were treating him differently. He changed his mind and jumped on the bandwagon. Despite the initial pressure to be “one of the guys,” Doug thoroughly enjoys his hobby. I think he gets a kick out of saying he’s a pilot, too.

Doug mentioned he was taking his kids flying today, and asked me: “Would you want to go sometime?” It threw me off-guard. I shrugged it off and humored him a bit with the idea, but he was serious. I confess: The more he talked about it, the more serious I got about going flying.

He spent about a half-hour telling me about the Cessna 150, including safety statistics and FAA regulations. The worst case scenario: We’d crash, get scraped up a bit, and end up on the evening news. Actually, most of it was just trying to convince me to go flying with him. He said he’d let me go for free, even though he’s allowed to charge around $16 an hour as a private pilot. “Because I’m the babysitter?” No, because I’m a nice girl. How sweet. He even said he’d let me give it a try once we’re in the air, but I don’t think I’d want to. He’s the risk-taker, I am not.

Doug said we could go on a tour of the Seattle area and circle the neighborhood. We’d get close enough to see my house and my family standing outside. I wonder what the Space Needle looks like from way up high. And my house! Ooh. Exciting.

All of this made me think of Frank Sinatra’s “Come Fly With Me”:

Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away
If you can use some exotic booze
There’s a bar in far Bombay
Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away

Come fly with me, let’s float down to Peru
In llama land there’s a one-man band
And he’ll toot his flute for you
Come fly with me, let’s take off in the blue

Once I get you up there where the air is rarified
We’ll just glide, starry-eyed
Once I get you up there I’ll be holding you so near
You may hear angels cheer ’cause we’re together

Weather-wise it’s such a lovely day
You just say the words and we’ll beat the birds
Down to Ac apulco Bay
It’s perfect for a flying honeymoon, they say
Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away

[instrumental]

Once I get you up there where the air is rarified
We’ll just glide, starry-eyed
Once I get you up there I’ll be holding you so near
You may hear angels cheer ’cause we’re together

Weather-wise it’s such a lovely day
You just say the words and we’ll beat the birds
Down to Ac apulco Bay
It’s perfect for a flying honeymoon, they say
Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly
Pack up, let’s fly away!!

