This Easter I received a small booklet titled “Poetry on Buses 2004: Facts and Fictions.” (It has that one weird paper smell, but other than that I really like my gift.) It is a collection of 60 poems written by people from King County. I’ve been looking through it and have tagged the pages of poems I found enjoyable, creative or relatively deep.

Here’s a taste:

Cradle

When I donate blood
I always ask the technician if I
can hold the bag afterwards.

What does
one quart of me
feel like?

I want to know.

They never let me.
It is against regulations
to hold yourself
in that way.

-Roberto Carlos Ascalon

Passing the Asian Art Museum

Carefully carved crow
by the painted gold banners
is almost perfect.
I reach up to touch the wood.
He flaps once and flies away.

-Marjorie Hemphill

Rar.

Returning from the triumphant battle,
Bearing the severed heads of the opposition,
Devouring their juicy innards,
Red stains across your face,
A thousand stab wounds on your own battered body.
I take one look and say,
“The next time you pick blackberries,
wear long pants.”

-Kellin Parnell

The first one is my favorite (although the third one is pretty darn good). I laugh every single time I read it. Ha ha. So funny. If you want to see more, just ask.

