Last night (or was it this morning?) I watched “The Mummy” and “The Mummy Returns” on DVD. One right after the other, of course. I received them both as a Christmas present from my mom and dad. I’d been wanting them for so long (as a collectors edition) that when I pulled them out of the bag I screamed, and couldn’t help but look at them periodically after that. I don’t know why, but I love those movies.

Maybe it’s because I have some sort of fascination with Egypt. There’s just something in me that loves to learn about or imagine Egyptian ways of life, or any ancient way of life for that matter. I’ve read a book of mine called “The Greek Gods” about three times because Greeks and the beliefs they had is so interesting. Come to think of it, it’s also why I read the “Little House on the Prairie” books. I loved reading about pioneering, and all the experiences Laura Ingalls Wilder had.

It’s also just fun to get scared every-so-often. I think the scariest part in the first of the “Mummy” films is when the American with glasses, trips, looses his glasses, and then slowly walks around in the underground chambers, knowing that someone or something scary is near him, and possibly coming after him. The fact that he can’t see well enough to escape or to understand the thing is a resurrected mummy adds to the helpless fear you feel inside as you watch. Plus, he looks just so darn scared as the mummy approaches. Ooh!

But, I really think O’Connell and them should have used their heads a bit more. In the first movie, they establish the fact that the mummy fears cats and will fear them until he is fully resurrected. If they had found a cat for each of the Americans and the Egyptologist to carry with them always, they could have postponed a lot of death and destruction.

And I can’t forget Brendan Fraser. He’s one of the reasons I love those movies. He’s one of my favorite actors because of the character he plays in “The Mummy” and “The Mummy Returns.” I must have some sort of weakness for the hero-type characters. (Ha ha. It’s funny when he screams back at the mummies. I love those parts.) It makes me sad to know that the last (or one of the last) movie he was in was some sort of Warner Brothers Looney Toons thing. There’s just something wrong with that. What the heck?

