What does a mirror reflect when it’s put up to another mirror? Nothingness?

Well, I tried it. I put two mirrors up as close together as I possibly could and looked in between at the reflection. Or should I call it a “reflection” because it really isn’t a reflection at all?

What ever I did see, it was freaky. It was like I was looking into a a secret dimension of endless gray; a tunnel into nothingness. It really scared me for a second. It’s the same feeling you get when you stare into the mirror, look yourself in the eye for a long time, and then all of sudden get the feeling you’re looking in at your soul. Or when your cousin first tells you about Bloody Mary and you go into the bathroom with the lights off and say her name two times and end up running out before the third time. (As you can tell, I still have the imagination of an 8-year-old. Is that a good, or a bad thing? Hmm.)

This whole mirror thing makes me want to write a story about a mirror that acts as a portal to the past. But it’s been done. Anyone remember that one episode on “Are You Afraid of the Dark?” Ha ha. Oh, those were good times.

Seriously, though. You should try the mirror thing.