On Sunday I went to Barnes and Nobles and I bought “The Da Vinci Code,” “Sense and Sensibility,” and “The Notebook.” I was really excited to finally get my hands on “The Da Vinci Code.” I believe I found myself some good reading material for the rest of the summer.

If only I didn’t start “Great Expectations” again. (I could have begun reading “The Da Vinci Code” already.) I’ve started that book about seven times, each time never getting any farther than to the end of part I. I don’t understand it. Usually, I get hooked on books real easily. This one is different. I have to work hard to finish a chapter. I think Charles Dickens has too many long-winded explainations, etc. that don’t necessarily (or at least they seem to not be necessary) significantly add to the story.

But, it is humorous. Like this part in the story: It’s Christmas Eve and, with every chance they get, the company bombards Pip with their moral goads.

“No; I should not have minded that if they would only have left me alone. But they wouldn’t leave me alone. They seemed to think the opportunity lost if they failed to point the conversation at me every now and then, and stick the point into me… Joe’s station and influence were something feebler (if possible) when there was company then when there was none. But he always aided and comforted me when he could, in some way of his own, and he always did so by giving me gravy, if there were any. There being plenty of gravy to-day, Joe spooned into my plate, at this point, about half a pint,” (Dickens 24).

After every verbal blow Dicken’s writes, “Joe gave me some more gravy,” until finally Pip says to the reader, “Joe offered me more gravy, which I was afraid to take.” Ha.

Now I really sound like a book nerd. Or is it worm?

