I’m learning how to salsa. It’s one of those things I’ve always wanted to do. Why, exactly? Lauren G. knows. It’s the same reason she wants to speak German.

My mom’s co-worker and friend, Ana R. from Venezuela, has agreed to teach us all how. Yesterday she stayed for dinner and taught us a couple steps. She told us it is better to learn only a little at a time and add to it. I’m supposed to listen to one of her salsa cds and practice the moves. She said it’s important to practice a lot to gain strength, control and coordination.

So far, so good. Ana told me I was doing well because I was actually listening to the music. She told us that some people don’t listen to the rhythm of the music and end up dancing all wrong. Yay for band and counting beats.

I better go practice.

