I came to question my own intelligence today. What qualities does one possess to truly be intelligent? I’ve always been told I was smart. But why? I guess I have been known to get a high GPA, but is that really what being smart is all about?

I didn’t do as well as I would have hoped on the SAT. I didn’t study for it, didn’t stress about it. I just took it, and well, I have average marks to show for it. The SAT, though, probably does not measure a persons intelligence with much accuracy. There are those that don’t test well. There are those that do.

It’s the same thing with an IQ test. They don’t have much accuracy. My problem when taking tests, or doing anything, really, is human error. I am one to make mistakes. Sometimes very stupid mistakes.

I am also one to be ignorant of many things. I wish I wasn’t, but it’s true. There are times when I don’t know what the heck people are talking about. “What is a ______ ?” “What does that mean?” Either I don’t know these things because of a small vocabulary, or because I basically have been living in a protective box all my life. That, or I just don’t know politics that well.

Schools seem to teach by having the students memorize facts. Always reading about events, and then regurgitating the information onto a paper for a grade. I get good grades, so does this mean I have a better memory than some? Or does it mean that I am a better learner than some, because even though it may seem that we are just memorizing information, we are actually learning with the process, and therefore becoming intelligent individuals? It’s hard to say.

And even after analyzing all of this, I still don’t know where I’m headed with this entry. Knowledge is just too big of a subject to break down in a LiveJournal. But, I guess I could say that just by questioning the definition of intelligence, I am practicing intelligence.

Though, I am still unsure.

